How Many in “One”?

Over the past few months, I’ve been feeling the “itch” return–the itch to get back into the discipline of writing. As I contemplated relaunching my blog, I decided it needed to be renamed. “April into the New Year” summed up where I was two years ago, but I’m in a completely different season of life today. Of course the biggest thing in my life these days is being newly married. On June 14th of this year, I married my best friend and the best man I’ve ever known, Jared. So “one” is made up of two: me and him, figuring out how to be “one flesh” as the Bible talks about, a profound calling indeed.

F_1470

Marrying my best friend!

But in getting married I also realized that I will never be whole and complete if I simply rely on Jared to fulfill all of my needs. There’s another aspect to becoming “one”: finding my true center in God, the great “Three-in-One.” So maybe “one” is really made up of four: me and the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

Or is “one” really five: me, Jared, and the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit?

The math of the Trinity is confusing enough, let alone adding other things into the mix! However you count it, I’m on a quest to being “one”: a whole person, relying on God for my everyday existence, and in unison and unity with my incredible husband. I certainly won’t pretend to have all the answers, but I can promise to be honest along the way. My prayer is that you can discover something new about yourself as we journey together.

From one stumbling journeyer to the next,

April

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

