Being the Beloved

I missed the faith jam posting yesterday, but I figured it was still worth it to get in on it.  She said to just begin, so I’m beginning!

What does it mean to be the beloved: to be-loved?

Today is a perfect example for me of what this means: resting.  I too often am trying to run a rat race and get one more thing done, and sometimes I just need to rest.

Sometimes I think I push so hard because I think everything relies on me.  If I don’t take care of it, no one will.  Everything will far apart, so I’d better be on top of things.

Sometimes it’s just that I am legitimately busy, which I actually like, but I still have to create pockets of space in there to just be.

Today I went on a beautiful hike with a friend.  It was our first time hanging out, but it will be far from the last.  We were able to be gracious to one another in various struggles.  That’s being loved: being the beloved.

Then I came home, showered, and accidentally fell asleep.  I wanted to get work done for church on Sunday, but apparently my body had other ideas.  In those moments I continually think of the line Jesus says to his disciples, “The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak” (Matthew 26:41).  My flesh can be so weak in those moments!

But then God speaks his peace to me, reassuring me that it’s going to be ok.  If anything, I don’t rest enough!  I don’t fully rest one day of the week, or even the equivalent of a day’s worth of time but throughout the week.  He’s got things under control.  Things won’t fall apart if I step back and rest.  It’s a good reminder for me.

I am far from perfect.  I even feel guilty when I’m resting!  But I’m learning to relax in who God is and how he’s created me to be.  And of these baby steps lead me to Hope: hope that God’s not done with me yet–that God is calling me into a fullness of being that I can still not fathom.

So today, like I must choose to hope so often, today I choose to be the beloved: to be-loved.  I choose to rest in who God has made me to be, and at the same time I rest into who he is growing me into being.  That person is someone who knows she is loved.  And because of HIS love, I’m able to approach life fully, whole-heartedly, without fear.  Because “perfect love casts out fear” (1 John 4:18).

Today, in this moment, choosing to be loved means choosing not to feel guilty about taking a nap and having a fun day planned with friends.  I’ve been working hard.  God’s got it under control.

May you too uncover what it means for you to be-loved, to be the beloved.  Where are the places of fear in your life that God’s perfect love can cast out?  May we continue to live into the fullness of who God desires us to be, letting his love penetrate into the core of our being more deeply every day.

Leave a Reply

