Do I Want You to Know the Real Me?

A couple days ago I rewatched “While You Were Sleeping” for the bazillionth time (literally: one bazillion… and counting).  It’s such an amazing movie!  I can quote every line, cite every joke, and mimic every gesture from memory.  Still, something new struck me this time.

Lucy (played by Sandra Bullock) is talking to her supposed fiance, Peter (played by Peter Gallagher), while he’s in a coma (watch the movie–it’ll make sense!).  She talks about how she dreams sometimes that, if her perfect guy got to know her, he would dump the model he’s with and “realize [she was] the one he wanted to grow old with.”

I’d never realized this before, but that is actually a very confident statement, and very different than what most people would think.  Most people worry about someone truly getting to know them, for fear that they’ll be rejected.

But Lucy, despite the roughness of her circumstances in the movie, has the deeper confidence that if someone really got to know her of course they’d see how wonderful she is.

I just love this!  And I was so struck by it I think because, for the first time in my life, I feel the same way Lucy does!  Some guy would be lucky to get to know me!  I don’t mean to sound like I think I’m perfect–I clearly know I’m not–but for the first time I can identify my strengths and be proud of them.  I know that I’m not the right girl for every guy, but I believe there is someone out there who will be thrilled to have me in their life.

Of course all of this is said while I’m still single and looking for someone in my life.  Though ministry is pretty amazing these days, so I’m not “desperate” like I used to be, either.  I’m just waiting patiently, trusting that it will happen in due time.

In the meantime, I’m not scared about someone getting to know the real me.  Instead, I’m excited!  I think I have a lot to offer, and I’m looking forward with anticipation to meeting the guy who will appreciate all of that and “realize [I’m] the one he [wants] to grow old with.”

Leave a Reply

