Practice Makes… Better?

Today I began thinking about and preparing for my sermon for next Sunday.  This will be my first one at my church here in Santa Barbara, and I’m super excited about it!  But I realized that I’m out of practice!  I was a little panicky today realizing that I don’t remember all of the tricks Dr. Kalas taught me at Asbury or just what my general style is.  Thankfully, I have some wonderful friends who also had Dr. Kalas and are much more experienced at sermon-writing than I am, so I called them up!  One of them commented that you use all of the readings for the week (we all use the Revised Common Lectionary readings as a weekly guide) to set the tone, but then you pick a specific passage to preach on.  I thought that was great advice!  The other difficulty I’m facing is that normally there are only four lectionary passages for a Sunday (one Old Testament, one New Testament, a Psalm, and a Gospel reading), but because the next day (Monday, January 6th) is Epiphany, I actually have eight passages to work from!  So I basically get to choose which I like best and go from there.

Now that I’m back in the groove of thinking like a preacher, I’m actually getting excited about it.  But I don’t think I’ll ever be perfect at it, hence the title of this post.  Practicing a lot will certainly make us better and hopefully more efficient at something, but we may never be perfect, and that’s ok.  There is always room for God to improve us and for us to improve ourselves, but I hope we can continue to strive toward the holiness and perfect love that Jesus calls us to (Matthew 5:48; 1 John 4:18).

Leave a Reply

