Embracing Life

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the ways that I can, do, and wish I would embrace life.  Over the past five years, I feel like my eyes have been opened, a veil has been lifted, and I can see clearly now.  You know when you’re driving and you zone out and all of the sudden you’re at your destination?  That was me before; now I’m (mostly) fully present and aware of the highs and lows of my life.  One of the ways that I embraced life today was that I cooked and baked.  I made dinner for my family, including my dad’s girlfriend–a big task but it was so fun!  I made a chicken and vegetable curry recipe (except I used apples instead of broccoli); I’ve never tried anything this ambitious before, and it actually turned out pretty well! (At least that’s what everyone told me!) The biggest mistake I made was that I didn’t prep all of the ingredients beforehand, so I had to slow down the cooking process so I had time to chop stuff while the first stuff was already cooking.  Then, after dinner, I made my (now famous) granola and granola bar recipes (both courtesy of my dear friend Linda).  And I think the granola bars were the best I’ve ever made!  I love making my own food.  I really wish it was something I had more time to do, or that I had more occasions like tonight where I had enough people to cook for to make it worthwhile.  But I absolutely embraced the experience, and it was totally worth it!  I’m so excited to continue this journey of health, as well as living life with my eyes wide open.  I pray that we can all continue to embrace the present moment and live life to the fullest!  What a joyous way to live!

My yummy chicken & vegetable curry with naan and mango ginger chutney.

I only doubled the recipe, but the curry still took 3 pans’ space because there were so many ingredients!

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: “I’m Wide Awake” | April into the New Year

  2. I realized today that, while I tripled the entire recipe, I only doubled the oats. That may account for why it was so different than usual! This batch it a little too peanut-buttery for me, but other than that, it’s pretty good!

Leave a Reply

